Countries / Territories

European Union


    The project is funded by the European Union (EU) through its Multiannual Indicative Programme (MIP) 2014-2020 for Bhutan. which focuses on two sectors: (a) rural development and climate change as well as (b) governance, incl. local government, public finance management and civil society. Bhutan is part of the 19 countries covered by development cooperation under the regional Multi-annual Indicative Programme for Asia 2014-2020, which foresees complementary support to ensure that the country can benefit from enhanced trade with regional and global markets.

    The EU and Bhutan

    The EU and Bhutan have had a longstanding cooperative partnership spanning 36 years since the first EU-Bhutan development project in 1982.

    The EU has focused on intensive support for Bhutan's efforts towards poverty reduction, food security and, most recently, democratisation. EU-Bhutan cooperation also extends further to United Nations forums and important global issues, in particular climate change. Additionally, the EU provides support in the area of humanitarian assistance through its Directorate General for Humanitarian Assistance (ECHO).
    Through the EU – Bhutan Trade Support project, the EU aims to contribute to the Royal Government of Bhutan's objective of economic diversification, reducing economic dependence, opening up market opportunities and supporting job creation.

    For more information on EU and its relations with Bhutan, please click here.


  • 19_EU logo.GIF
  •  bh

  • Stay connected